Seattle Like a Local: Clarke Beach

For all the years I’ve lived here, I’ve never explored Mercer Island. This weekend was so beautiful that I couldn’t stay inside and decided to take that mysterious exit to East Mercer Island Way.

First of all, I was disappointed I didn’t get to see the mind-blowing, ginormous homes that I’d imagined. I actually felt like I was lost in the middle of the woods…except I knew I was on an island right between Seattle and the Eastside metropolis. Second, I got nauseated driving that windy road so beware! Third, the best part of this park was an adorable pup named Koda. I think that’s how his/her name is spelled…at least that’s what the owner kept hollering as s/he snuggled up and licked my hand. Aww!

Clarke Beach was beautiful. The trail down (steeply down) to the beach area is paved. A twin trail on the other side appears to be in repair(?). And don’t be misled, there’s really not much of a beach. But there are a couple docks, a swimming area, and a beautiful partial view of Mt. Rainier on a clear day. There were picnic tables near the top of the trail (for the fragile knees and hips) and at the bottom, along with bathrooms/changing rooms.

Here are a few pics. I was loving this fall weather!

DSC_0428

Upper picnic area

DSC_0429

Swimming area and some beautiful blue!

DSC_0434

Fishing off the dock, Mt. Rainier (way) in the background.

DSC_0443

Last blooms of the season

DSC_0457

Giant majesty

DSC_0460

Leafy filter

This post is meant to be a guide to visitors and locals alike.

I love finding new spots in the city and want to share them with others! Enjoy! ~Noël

Leave a Reply

