Mother Nature Can Suck It!

Okay, ladies, you know how at a certain point in the month we get a wee bit sensitive and ridiculous and eat far too many salty foods? Yeah, that just happened to me.

My poor husband. He made a joke and I tried to remain calm. Husband instinct kicked in, he knew he’d said something bad, apologized, and I promptly burst into tears. Only that is an understatement. I sobbed and snotted for several minutes…then I realized we were riding in my brand new car (see https://2ndtimesacharm.wordpress.com/2013/10/15/keeping-tums-in-business-one-car-at-a-time/) and I hadn’t transferred my handy stash of fast-food napkins into the glove box. We were 20 minutes away from home. I couldn’t spend the entire ride with snot running down my face! What could I substitute for Kleenez/cheap napkins? Ah, the work shirt in the back seat. Straining to reach it, dumping my pens and watch and name badge all over the place, silently thanking God it was grey and wouldn’t show my mascara smears, blowing my nose several times into it, and the inner drama was over. Mostly.

“I’m sorry,” I sniffled.

“Why? And why? You knew I was kidding.”

“I know. And I really didn’t mean to make you feel bad or guilty! But around either seven days before my period I get all irrational and emotional.”

He kept driving. Tunnel lights flashed by like a strobe.

“I don’t know why and I hate it! I just can’t take teasing very well and am super sensitive. I get anxious over stupid stuff. I know I shouldn’t be anxious but I can’t help myself. It’s a horrible feeling to be so out of control of my emotions! I hate it! But it happens. Every month.”

“Hmm.”

“I feel better now.”

“Okay, baby. I love you with all my heart and soul.”

“Always and forever, babe.”

One thought on “Mother Nature Can Suck It!

Leave a Reply

