Stuffed Bell Peppers (That He’ll Actually Eat)

Cooking is a challenge.

  1. Half the time I’ve just come off a long shift where I’ve stood and/or run around like a bat out of hell for the majority of 10 hours. I do not feel like standing anymore. If I could lie down and cook, I’d be all over that S. Instead, I try to find quick fix meals.
  2. I’m not a great cook. About two years ago I finally learned I could do more than make a rockin’ bowl of Top Ramen. My first meal for my housemates at the time: Purple Chicken and Rice. Yep, purple chicken…because the carrots or potatoes (I forget which) were purple and the color leeched into the meat and sauce and rice. Since then it’s mostly been uphill with my experimentation meals.
  3. The more non-burnt, non-purple meals I’ve made, the more I’ve wanted to branch out which is difficult because my guy likes simple stuff–not too many spices or thrills, just good cookin’. I, on the other hand, love trying new, strange things. This can create problems. For instance, onions in the pot pie just didn’t do it for him. This news made me sad.
  4. The fact that it’s often just the two of us and Brandon doesn’t eat leftovers unless he absolutely loves the meal means I’ve struggled to find recipes bland enough for him, interesting enough for me, and just enough for a meal plus leftovers for me.

Well, I found a stuffed pepper recipe that was a good balance for both of us so I thought I’d share.

Stuffed Green Bell Peppers (serves 2 with a little left-over!):

2 large organic green bell peppers                                  1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1/2 pound lean ground beef                                            1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning

1/4 cup rice                                                                   A healthy pinch of garlic powder

2/3 cups water                                                               A healthy pinch of onion powder

1 (8oz) can tomato sauce                                               Approx. 1/3 cup shredded mozzarella

Salt and pepper to taste

Precook the rice. I use a rice cooker (and make more than just the 1/4c at a time but that’s ’cause I’m Asian and I like my rice!) but you can follow package directions for stove top cooking. **Hint: If you’re making white rice, run cold water over it, swirl around, and dump the cloudy water out. Repeat until mostly clear. This will decrease the residue at the bottom of your cooker or pot.**

DSC_0601Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Brown hamburger over medium heat. While hamburger is browning, you can either halve, dis-membrane and seed green peppers OR blanch (boil 1-2 minutes, then immerse in ice water) them first before halving, etc. Place in lightly oiled baking dish.

Mix rice and hamburger with sauces and seasonings. Spoon equal parts into each half of the green peppers.

Bake for about 1 hour. During the last 5 minutes of cooking, turn off oven, sprinkle mozzarella over each pepper, return to oven to melt.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Bell Peppers (That He’ll Actually Eat)

Leave a Reply

