Bacon, Bean, and Spinach Soup

After a long string of misses, I found a hit! This soup is perfect for a cold, late autumn evening. Plus my poor guy is getting sick so we needed something warm and savory.

Bacon, Bean, and Spinach Soup (serves 3, maybe 4!):

DSC_0565

I wish this picture looked as delicious as it tastes!

4 slices of low-sodium bacon, cut crosswise into 1/4 inch pieces 2 cups water
2 1/2 cups frozen chopped spinach*
1 3/4 cups vegetable broth
1 (15 oz) can white or pinto beans
3/4 cup chopped onion
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cube chicken boullion                                     

Cook bacon in a large saucepan until crisp. Reserve 2 teaspoons of dripping in pan; discard excess drippings.

Add other ingredients to bacon and reserved drippings. Cover and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat, simmer about 25 minutes. Wait for it to cool for a bit. The beans are HOT!

 

*I’d use fresh spinach…if it were in season. I suppose you could also use kale but I personally dislike the bitter, dirty taste (yes, I’ve had it straight from my dad’s farm and that still doesn’t change the way I feel about kale!).

4 thoughts on “Bacon, Bean, and Spinach Soup

Leave a Reply

