Week Three: Couch to 5K

I think this wogging (Walk + Jog) thing is getting easier. No kidding. I still look ridiculously pained when doing it and I don’t enjoy it, but it’s easier somehow.

I worked Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday this week so my workouts had to work around that. Sunday was kind of a breakthrough. I was scheduled to run 5 min, walk 5 min x3 after my warmup. I ended up doing it four times plus a little 3 1/2 minute first attempt. I can’t explain how amazed at myself I felt. I had no idea I could do this! I mean, running or wogging for five whole minutes in a row had never happened before. Except in 9th grade gym class under threat of destroying my 4.0 GPA.

On Wednesday I convinced my hubby to come with me. A cold wind was blowing so it wasn’t the most comfortable situation. Poor guy! He made it for two miles and then camped out in the car. I was super thankful for the fingerless gloves my youngest stepdaughter gave me. I’m amazed that my hands get so hot. I mean, I have been sweating from places I didn’t know were possible! Anyways, the big thing about this day was I had to run 10 minutes at a time. Twice. Seriously? But I made it. I couldn’t believe I did it! At the end, I think I was going slower than my brisk walk pace, but I was still going. Of course, right at that time, three super amazing jogger dudes came barreling by.

Let’s keep this straight, I’m not doing this because I look good at it.

I also bought a new pair of running shoes on Wednesday. I mean, really went to a running shop and had my walk analyzed and tried on shoes and ran up and down the block in them, etc. Infinitely better for my knees. Yay, Asics.

I decided to try a breakfast plan to get ready for the race. Quarter cup of steel-cut oats and some almonds. I’m not sure if it was the best choice. Maybe I needed more food. Or less food. Or something. I really felt nauseated near the end of the workout. However, I did manage to do run 10min, walk 5min, run 5min, walk 5min, run 10min. Also at the end I threw in some 30 second pick-ups. I have no idea how I managed to find the energy to willpower to finish like that. But I felt great!

So that was my past week. I had not motivating running tracks because I mostly listened to bad rap. Thanks, Songza.

3 thoughts on “Week Three: Couch to 5K

  1. I got a pair of ASICS when I first started running too. (This past December I think it was.) And it was great going to a running store, as they did a gait analysis, etc … and showed me how to lace up my shoes. (There is like a zillion ways depending on what you need…who knew!)

    And good going on your runs this past week. I, unfortunately had to skip the runs as the weather down south here was just brutal!

    • I know–I too was surprised at the technicality of running shoes!
      Good luck with the weather, although maybe this gives you a good excuse not to torture yourself? 🙂

      • Heh … I wish … my wife and I went swimming at a pool tonight … and I was totally out of breath after the 1st lap … and then I realized I had 19 more!

        Tomorrow it is supposed to only be rainy … so I think I will take a run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

